A Look Back at 2016 

Another year is coming to the end, I feel like time is going too fast lately, but that shouldn’t be a bad thing. I think we can all agree 2016 was a messy year, a lot has happened in the world that has caused distress. As I look back on 2016, it was definitely a year of lessons. I was faced with challenges and people who tested my patience, but I’m a fighter so raised above the adversity. I learned that risk taking and stepping out of my comfort zone allowed me to grow as a person. I learned self-care should not be taken for granted and next year I’ll take better care of myself. In previous blog posts, I’ve written what my goals will be for the following year. This time I want to try something new and talk about what I’ve learned in 2016.

For me personally, 2016 was a tough year, but not as tough as other years. This year was challenging for me because I was faced with the challenge of figuring out my life and how to deal with difficult people. My mentality at the beginning of the year was to have maximum control of how the year would unfold for me and try to prevent anything distressing from happening. Oh, how foolish I was! We do not have power over how life will unfold, things happen to us when we least expect it. However, I have learned you can control your reactions to certain situations. This year I had to deal with a challenging boss, who is not bad person, but she can be condescending. I took on a lot of stress from this and I got sick throughout the year. I had strep throat, ear infection, glands infection, horrible flu with high fever, borderline anemia (I’m cured now) and sinus infection. I would like to point out that I am a teacher at a before and after school program, so that contributed to the sicknesses. On the other hand, the stress from doing a job I do not enjoy and dealing with a difficult boss is definitely another factor to take into consideration.

Let’s take a look at what I’ve learned from 2016.

1. Self-care and Health.

Image result for self care

I have learned that self-care and your heath is the most important thing! Your health should always come first, I had to teach myself to slow down with the daily hustle and tell myself that it’s alright to take a break. I am changing career fields at the moment, switching from youth counseling to work in the arts/culture as marketer or a social media coordinator. I am doing a lot of volunteering, along with working during the week, therefore the exhaustion was building up. Health always comes first, remembered that!

2. March to the beat of your own drum.

Image result for march to the beat of your own drum

As I mentioned above, I am changing my career path to chase my dream career. I have to start from scratch, learning, gaining experience and networking with others. I have to make up for years I’ve lost, trying to gain knowledge in a very short amount of time. I knew it wouldn’t be an easy journey, but I know it’ll be worth it in the end. I was faced with some obstacles and very opinionated people, who think they know what’s best for and what would make me happy. I appreciate people’s opinions and I hear them out, but when these opinions become forceful, that’s when I have to draw the line. I became swayed from all of these individuals and allowed myself to feel doubtful about my choices. This can be very toxic, that’s why you have to watch out what you say and to whom. Make your own decisions, if you know that’s for sure the best thing for you do not let anyone stop you. Go out there and show them what you are capable of, you are unstoppable. So what I have to say is: just wait and watch me succeed.

3. Control Your Reactions.

Image result for control reactions

I am prone to anxiety, if something very stressful happens to me I tend to feel so stressed to the point where I make myself feel sick. It’s a very unhealthy habit, you can’t control what happens to you but you can control how your react to it. Going back to my condescending boss I was talking about, I allowed her behavior to affect me emotionally and also affect my work performance. I sat down one day and took long hard look at how I was approaching the situation, I knew I had to change and made it my goal to control my emotions when she was being rude. The moment I began to change my reaction, I noticed I responded to her differently and that made me feel calmer. I am still working on it and reading about how to master this, I guess this hardship was necessary to happen so I can learn how to interact with people who are similar to her.

4. Take Risks.

Image result for take risks if you win you will be happy if you lose you will be wise

If you don’t take risks and step out of your comfort zone, you’ll never move forward. The sense of security and the feeling comfort is great, but it won’t get you anywhere. This year I learned to be spontaneous and face my fears, and you know what it’s not that scary when you take that step forward.

5. Let It Go.

Image result for let it go quotes

No, I’m not referring to the song from Frozen (ok, bad joke). Letting go of things from the past or present is not a sign of weakness, but a sign of respect for yourself and your feelings. I have learned that what’s in the past stays there, and I need to focus on the here and now. You never know what will happen in a day, so don’t waste your life living in misery.

6. Forgiveness.

9ab18aa88e858e60360091f17dd28bb4

Pride always gets in the way of forgiving, we think that if we forgive we we lose a battle.

  • Resentment is the poison you feed yourself, hoping someone else will die.
  • Forgiveness is a choice.
  • Refusing to forgive is living in the past.

I couldn’t agree more, I am far from perfect and I’m still having a hard time with forgiveness, but I realized it really is like poison for your mind. When you forgive you begin to feel free.

Even through 2016 was challenging year, I see why I had to go through it because I needed to learn more and grow as a person. My wish for everyone for 2017 is great health, happiness, success and piece of mind! Remember its okay to be kind to yourself and do something that makes you happy, make sure you are healthy and laugh a lot.

Happy New Year everyone, let’s make 2017 a calm and exciting year for us all!

See you soon and thanks for reading!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

